South African Film and Television Awards (SAFTAs) Deadline EXTENDED

18th August 2014: The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) and the South African Film and Television Awards Committee have extended the closing date for applications for the 09th South African Film & Television Awards (SAFTAs) to the 28th of August 2014. The SAFTAs, managed under the custodianship of the NFVF, are an industry initiative governed by the SAFTAs committee and the body of industry representatives comprising of the broadcasters, SASFED and other key stakeholders.


Only television and film programmes that have been produced and publicly exhibited or broadcast between 1st of Aug 2013 - 31 July 2014 and feature films produced & publicly exhibited between 1st of Jan 2014 - 31 December 2014 will be considered. Only productions that are entered will be eligible for consideration.


The SAFTAs give recognition to individuals and productions that have excelled in the following categories: TV Non-fiction, TV Fiction, Feature Films, Short Films, Student Films and Animation. The awards also celebrate film and television industry legends that have long served in various fields of the industry through the Special Lifetime Achievement award.


The committee has decided to honour presenters by creating a Best Presenter in TV Non-Fiction award. In addition, the youth and children categories have been separated by the creation of the Best Youth award and Best Children’s award. This will ensure that the best talents are honoured in the right categories.

The closing date for submission of feature films is not affected, and therefore remains the 30th of October 2014.

For the 09th Annual SAFTAs complete rules and entry guidelines visit

The submission of entries will be followed by the filtration judging process, which will then be followed by the final judging process. The nominees will be announced in February 2015.

The main awards ceremonies will be held on the 20th and 21st of March 2015 in Johannesburg where all winners will be announced and be presented with the official SAFTA trophy, the Golden Horn.


The industry is urged register on the SAFTAs registration website, complete the electronic forms and to drop off all required material before or no later than Thursday 28th of August 2014 at 16h00 for attention:

Lala Tuku:  SAFTA: project coordinator

87 Central Street



SAFTA registration website:

For any further enquiries please email




Released on Behalf of the National Film and Video Foundation


Contact Person

Naomi Mokhele

Manager: Communications

Tel: +27 11 483 0880

Twitter: @IamNaomiM





Sean Bracegirdle

Communications Coordinator

Tel: +27 11 483 0880



The National Film and Video Foundation (NFVF) is governed by the National Film and Video Foundation Act 73 of 1997 as amended by Cultural Laws Amendment Act 36 of 2001. The mandate of the NFVF, in terms of section 3 of the Act, is:

To promote and develop the film and video industry;

To provide and encourage the provision of opportunities for persons, especially from disadvantaged communities to get involved in the film and video industry;

To encourage the development and distribution of local film and video products;

To support the nurturing and development of access to the film and video industry;

To address historical imbalances in the infrastructure and distribution of skills and resources in the film and video industry.